Blog Post

07 Mar
By: user 0

Local Govt. / Legislative

Like other cities in the philippines, Lipa is governed by a mayor and vice mayor who are elected to three-year terms. The mayor is the executive head who leads the city’s departments in the execution of city ordinances and in the delivery of public services. The vice mayor heads a legislative council that is composed of 13 members: twelve elected councilors and one ex officio office held by the Association of Barangay Chairmen President as the baangay sector representative. The council is in charge of creating the city’s policies in the form of ordinances and resolutions.

Pursuant to Chapter II, Title II, Book III of Republic Act No. 7160 or the Local Government Code of 1991, the city government is to be composed of a mayor (alkalde), a vice mayor (bise alkalde) and members (kagawad) of the legislative branch Sangguniang Panlungsod alongside a secretary to the said legislature, all of which are elected to a three-year term and are eligible to run for three consecutive terms.

As with every Philippine city, Lipa’s chief executive is the city mayor. Elected to a term of three years and limited to three consecutive terms, he or she appoints the directors of each city department, which include the office of administration, engineering office, information office, legal office, and treasury office. The incumbent mayor is Meynardo A. Sabili, from the United Nationalist Alliance Party, who first served as provincial board member of the old 4th District of Batangas upon which Lipa was still part of that district from 1995 to 2001. He was first elected as mayor of Lipa in 2010 defeating incumbent mayor and former congressman Oscar Gozos, despite disqualification due to his residency. Sabili was formerly a resident of San Juan, Batangas, prior to being elected as mayor.

The city’s vice mayor performs duties as acting governor in the absence of the mayor. He or she also automatically succeeds as mayor upon the death of the incumbent. He or she also convenes the Sangguniang Panlungsod, the city’s legislative body. The incumbent vice mayor of Lipa is Eric Africa from the Liberal Party. He first assumed office on 30 June 2013. He ran and was elected for a second term in 2016.


The city, which is a lone congressional district, is represented in the Philippine House of Representatives by congresswoman Vilma Santos-Recto from the Liberal Party. She first assumed office as city mayor from 1998 to 2007 where she became the first female chief executive. After finishing her term, she was elected as the first female Governor of Batangas from 2007 to 2016. Within the city, the City Board or Sangguniang Panlungsod crafts all city ordinances, performs appropriation of city funds, issues franchises and permits, impose fees on city services, and exercise other duties and powers as stipulated by the Local Government Code of 1991. Being a first-class city in terms of income, Lipa is entitled to a City Board composed of 12 members.